Book Review: Living Courageously by Lipa Rath


book review blog“Living Courageously” is an inspiring memoir of Lipa Rath, which tells about the spirituality and power of surrendering to situations when you feel miserable in your life. It is undoubtedly an interesting tale that makes you realize the practicality of accepting the bitterness of the life instead of mourning over the situations.

Sometimes, a failed relationship, miscarriage of your baby, or losing a great opportunity left you in unbearable conditions. It happens with everyone but such up & down of life goes to an extent with some certain people to introduce them with eternity and soul of world. Unfortunately, the author experienced several adverse conditions in her life like her failed relationship, custody of her daughter, and solitary confinement in public life. She simply explains her encounters with omens and their directions in getting over from troublesome incidents of her life. Though, she has not used the word in this 114 pages long book. Instead of this, she has shared the works and excerpt of great thinkers such as Swami Vivekanand, Paramhans Yoganand, and Leo Tolstoy.

In some ways or other, she tells about the philosophy of believing in karma. The famous Brazilian author Paulo Coelho has also written on this subject in his bestselling book “The Alchemist’’. He has said that “I don’t live in either my past or my future. I’m interested only in the present. If you can concentrate always on the present, you’ll be a happy man. Life will be a party for you, a grand festival because life is the moment we’re living now.”

My Experience as an Avid Reader: The novel is written by a beautiful heart and with a noble intention. However, there are some path holes in the language of the novel, which breaks the rhythm of the reader. For example, the writer has referred the god as ‘Him’ and ‘He’ in the middle of sentences, which breaks the flow of reader. Moreover, the editor has not done his job proficiently by overlooking writing patterns. In some sections, the editor has overlooked major grammatical errors. Hence, the flawed expression of such beautiful thoughts disappoints the readers and stops the book from becoming a bestseller.

50 Words Verdict:  The memoir does offer a lot to the reader with its simple and spiritual lessons. It can be read by anyone, who see his or her life as cursed in moments of great ecstasy. However, the transcription like narration of author’s life breaks the reading flow despite delivering valuable insights. 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Living Courageously by Lipa Rath

  1. Hi Anant,
    Thank you for the review of my book. After writing the first manuscript I took 8 months to go through the editing before final printing. God is often referred with capital ‘H’. If God is referred as divine mother then it can also become capital ‘S’. There is no one way to describe God.
    With regards to correction in grammar, I would be very happy to know the mistakes and correct them in my next edition. I have noted one or two typos and one word missing in this edition.
    I had three people edit before the final draft. I paid over $400 to a professional native English speaking American editor to edit the book twice, in Standard American English format. Still, I’m open to seeing your correction. You may not be used to conversational style of writing, which is walking away from traditional old fashioned way of telling a story. That’s nice, but my style was like talking to my readers in an informal way.
    By the way, this is not a novel. A novel is a fictitious prose narrative. So you may correct that. You mentioned that there are many ‘path- holes’ in the language. Did you mean to say ‘pot- holes’ ?
    Anyway, opinions are subjective, so I accept your view point. Will be glad to make correction if it’s needed. Thank you for your write up about my book. God bless you, dear. I know the book touched you too!
    Lipa Rath

    1. Hello Lipa,

      I am glad to receive your comment on my blog and writing you back.

      First of all, I would like to pay a huge ‘Thank You’ for writing such a great book. I loved its soul.

      In my review, I have notified the improvement required areas of your book. As I have said, the use of word ‘Him’ and ‘His’ breaks the flow of the reader. Here, I wanted to say that the unbalanced mix of capital case and lower case distracts the readers. The American journalist “Steve Coll” has shown a different way to use capital case words without losing reader’s attention. He uses the word with smaller font like “GARY SCHROEN works in CIA as an operational chief.” However, there can be many more ways to keep the reader engaged with the flow.

      Apart fromthis, when you will see the back cover of the book, the fifth line goes against the MLA Style Manual & The Chicago Manual of Style as well as British pattern of English in case of using serial comma.

      Moreover, you have written, “He tells them of God the father, the Son, the Holy Ghost.” on
      page no. 10 and second line of paragraph no. two. Here, I am confused that why there is not a comma right after the God because the father is an alter ego of God like the Son and the Holy Ghost. Apart from this, I would like to know about the requirement of keeping the alter egos in capital case. Can’t they be typed in small case as they are just reference of divine power because everything in this world is the alter ego of God?

      At last, I would say that you have given an inspiring read to the world. Thanks again for coming on my blog and giving me a chance to discuss the things with you.

      Warm Regards
      Anant Prakash

Leave a Reply

